Close to the village of Binham is Fiddlers Hill, a
burial mound which dates from the early Bronze Age,
there is a local legend attached to this hill which
nowadays is a popular picnic spot.
The tale goes that the spectre of a
monk called "The Black Monk" haunted the grounds around
Binham Priory during the hours between dusk and dawn.
The monk emerged each night from a tunnel that linked
the Benedictine Priory of Binham to the Shrine of Our
Lady at Walsingam some three miles away.
One day a fiddler and his dog sauntered into the village
of Binham and upon hearing about this spectre decided to
explore the tunnel to see what caused the monk to haunt
this particular spot.
Before entering the passage he advised the sizeable
crowd of locals who had gathered to see him off, that he
would play his fiddle as he went so that the villagers
could follow his progress above ground. The fiddler and
his small dog entered the tunnel and the villagers were
able to hear the strains of his music and follow his
However, when the fiddler reached the place which is now
called Fiddler's Hill, his music stopped abruptly. The
villagers were too scared to enter the tunnel themselves
so they waited and a long time later the poor fiddlers
little dog emerged from the tunnel shivering and whining
with his tail between his legs, but there was no sign of
Later that night a violent storm broke out, and the
following morning the villagers woke to find that the
passage entrance had been completely
demolished. Over the years the hill where the
fiddler disappeared began to be known as Fiddlers Hill
in memory of the brave fiddler.
There is a final twist to this story. In 1933 when the
road was widened around Fiddlers Hill, three skeletons
were found one of which was that of a dog!