A good area for both ornithology and walking,
with the Norfolk Coastal Path running through here.
There used to be a spectacular Hall in
Stiffkey that belonged to the Bacon family, built by Nathaniel Bacon in
1578. All that now remains is the gatehouse adorned with the Bacon
family coat of arms and the remains of a wing.
The church of St. John the Baptist stands at the east end of the village with the ruins of St. Marys in the same churchyard. At the other end is the white washed Red Lion pub with its welcoming atmosphere and good food. Well behaved children and dogs are welcome. The village has a village stores and post office.
Wells-next-the-sea is just over four miles away with a good range of shops and on this road is the terminus of the Wells and Walsingham Light Railway, whose narrow gauge steam trains run inland to Little Walsingham. An ancient and picturesque village which has been a place of pilgrimage since 1061. Famous for its many ancient buildings, including the ruined Augustinian Priory, Georgian Courthouse/Museum and Prison. Morston in the other direction is superb for the boating enthusiast with delightful walks and boat trips out to the famous Blakeney Point to see the seals.
Read a ghostly tale associated with Stiffkey Marsh.
Stiffkey means ‘island of stumps’ and probably refers to the tree stumps that are found in Stiffkey marsh.
An old ditty - Cromer crabs, Runton dabs, Beeston babies, Sheringham ladies, Weyborne witches, Salthouse ditches, Blakeney bulldogs, Stiffkey trolls.
Home Other Norfolk Towns and Villages