The Village of Long Melford in Suffolk
A visitors guide to the village of Long
Melford in Suffolk. As the name implies, Long Melford is very long with
the main street stretching for a number of miles, considered to be one of
the longest high streets in East Anglia.
The residential area consists of attractive Georgian and Victorian houses,
with the main part of the town taken up with art galleries, antique and
book shops. Many of the residential houses face the thirteen
acre village green, coming in all shapes, sizes, ages and colours. The
village has several pubs and a variety of excellent restaurants. The
magnificent church of the Holy Trinity resides at one end of the town
towards the northern end, a beautiful old wool church with wonderful
The National Trust property of Melford Hall one of East Anglia's most
celebrated Elizabethan houses used to be the country retreat and deer park
for the abbots of Bury St Edmunds
Kentwell Hall is where history comes to life, the House, Gardens and Farm
have an unrivalled ability to captivate the visitor. At Kentwell they hold
Tudor themed days and also host themed events based around the Second
The town of Long Melford has been busy since Tudor times, though it
can trace its heritage back to roman days. The red building in front
of the church is the holy trinity almshouses built in 1573 by William
Cordwell, of Melford Hall. Many of his families tombs can be found inside
Elizabeth 1 was entertained
at Melford Hall
with its pepperpot towers she was welcomed by two hundred young gentlemen
in white velvet, three hundred in black and over one thousand five hundred
blue glass roman vase
was unearthed in Long
Melford in 1958. It now resides in the British Museum.
Bell Inn is supposed to be haunted.
It was built in
1450 but has only been an inn since 1570, so no time at all really!
Home Other Suffolk Towns and Villages