The Town of Walberswick in Suffolk
A visitors guide to the small Suffolk
coastal village of Walberswick located in an Area of Outstanding National
Beauty on the south bank of the River Blyth. Once a busy fishing port
during the 15th and 16th centuries, the village boasted three churches but
now there is only the one. Silting and the changing of the coastline
caused the decline of fishing and trading.
The village attracts the summer visitor and a large proportion of the
properties are now holiday homes. The area around Walberswick has over a
thousand acres of heath and marshland and its a great place for the
rambler and nature lovers.
In the summer months a small passenger ferry takes people across the River
Blyth to the nearby seaside town of Southwold
It is also possible to get to Southwold via the Bailey bridge which
crosses the river.
The town boasts two public houses The Bell Inn and The Anchor, a gallery,
restaurants and tea rooms.
A favourite pursuit during the summer months is crabbing off the harbour,
it is here that the British Open Crabbing Championship is held to raise
monies for various charities. Competitors from all over the world descend
upon this place.
During 1914, Walberswick was home to the famous artist and architect Charles
(1868-1928). Mackintosh was a Scottish architect
and a designer in the Arts and Crafts Movement.
Remember to pronounce the village name correctly Wall-burrs-wick.
Home Other Suffolk Towns and Villages